Advanced Search
X
Advanced Search
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
On Hand
Available to Order
search image
  • Astrid Sees All
  • Author: Natalie Standiford
  • ISBN: 9781982153656
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Pub Date: 04/2021
  • Pages: 272
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Web Price: $27.00
Description View

New York's last bohemia--the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s--is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag, and books by Patti Smith.

New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous life she so desperately craves but also to confront Ivan, the older man who painfully wronged her.

With her best friend Carmen, she escapes to the East Village, disappearing into an underworld haunted by artists, It Girls, and lost souls trying to party their pain away. Carmen juggles her junkie-poet boyfriend and a sexy painter while, as Astrid the Star Girl, Phoebe tells fortunes in a nightclub and plots her revenge on Ivan.

When the intoxicating brew of sex, drugs, and self-destruction leads Phoebe to betray her friend, Carmen disappears, and Phoebe begins an unstoppable descent into darkness. She may have a chance to save herself--and Carmen, if she can find her--but to do it she must face what's hiding in the shadows she's been running from--within her heart and in the dangerous midnight streets.

A love letter to gritty 1980s New York City, Astrid Sees All is an irresistible, original novel about female friendship, sex and romance, and what it's like to be a young woman searching for an identity.

Genres & Subjects View
COVER PRICE
  • Hardcover $27.00
On Our Shelves As of 04/22/2021 04:00pm
  • Hardcover $27.00 1 copies

BURR RIDGE | The Village Center 770 Village Center Drive, Burr Ridge, IL 60527 | Mon-Sat 10a-8p & Sun 11a-6p | Also Curbside Pickup | 630.920.1500

CHICAGO NWM Hospital | 201 E. Huron Street, Chicago IL 60611 | M-F 8a-6p | Sat 10a-5p | Sun closed | Also Store Pickup | 312.926.2665

CHICAGO State Street | Macy’s Lower Level 111 N. State Street, Chicago IL 60602 | Reopens 8/12/20 | 312.781.5257

VERNON HILLS | Hawthorn Mall 102 Hawthorn Center, Vernon Hills IL 60061 | M-Sat 11a-7p | Sun 12p-6p | Also Curbside Pickup | 847.549.7550

O’HARE AIRPORT | Gates B10, C15, E5, G1, HK4 | 10000 W. O’Hare Ave. | Chicago IL 60666 | 7 days 7a-5p | Also Store Pickup | 773.686.1281

Barbara's Bookstores have been Chicagoland's independent booksellers since 1963.

© 1963-2020 Mayuba Inc. | Barbara's Bookstores