Advanced Search
X
Advanced Search
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
On Hand
Available to Order
search image
  • The Queen: Her Life
  • Author: Andrew Morton
  • ISBN: 9781538700433
  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
  • Pub Date: 11/2022
  • Pages: 400
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Cover Price: $30.00
Description View

Perfect for fans of The Crown, legendary New York Times bestselling biographer Andrew Morton provides the definitive story of Queen Elizabeth II's life and legacy.

Painfully shy, Elizabeth Windsor's personality was well suited to her youthful ambition of living quietly in the country, raising a family, and caring for her dogs and horses. But when her uncle, King Edward VIII, abdicated, she became heir to the throne--embarking on a journey that would test her as a woman and as a queen.

Ascending to the throne at only 25, this self-effacing monarch navigated endless setbacks, family conflict, and occasional triumphs throughout her 70 years as the Queen of England. As her mettle was tested, she endeavored to keep the monarchy relevant culturally, socially, and politically, often in the face of resistance from inside the institution itself. And yet the greatest challenges she faced were often inside her own family, forever under intense scrutiny; from rumors about her husband's infidelity, her sister's marital breakdown, Princess Diana's tragic death, to the recent departure of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle.

Now in The Queen, renowned biographer Andrew Morton takes an in-depth look at Britain's longest reigning monarch, exploring the influence Queen Elizabeth has had on both Britain and the rest of the world for much of the last century. From leading a nation struggling to restore itself after the devastation of the second World War to navigating the divisive political landscape of the present day, Queen Elizabeth has been a reluctant but resolute queen. This is the story of a woman of unflagging self-discipline who will long be remembered as mother and grandmother to Great Britain, and one of the greatest sovereigns of the modern era.

About the Author View
Genres & Subjects View
COVER PRICE
  • Hardcover $30.00
On Our Shelves As of 12/06/2022 12:23pm
  • Hardcover $30.00 1 copies

BURR RIDGE | The Village Center 770 Village Center Drive, Burr Ridge IL 60527 | 630.920.1500
Hours: Mon-Sat 10am-7pm Sun 11am-6pm

O’HARE INTERNATIONAL | Gates B10, C15, E5, G1, HK4 | Chicago IL 60666 | 773.686.1281

CHICAGO | Macy’s 111 N. State Street, Chicago IL 60602 | 312.781.5257
Hours: Mon-Sat 10am-8pm Sun 11am-7pm

SCHAUMBURG | 5 Woodfield Mall, Schaumburg IL 60173 | 224.520.8489
Hours: Mon-Thurs 11am-8pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm Sun 12pm-6pm

CHICAGO | Northwestern Memorial Hospital 201 E. Huron Street, Chicago IL 60611 | 312.926.2665
Hours: Mon-Fri 7am-7pm Sat-Sun 10am-6pm

VERNON HILLS | Hawthorn Mall 102 Hawthorn Center, Vernon Hills IL 60061 | 847.549.7550
Hours: Mon-Sat 11am-8pm Sun 11am-6pm

LOMBARD | 120 Yorktown center Lombard,IL 60140
Hours: Mon-Fri 7am-7pm Sat-Sun 10am-6pm

Barbara's Bookstores have been Chicagoland's independent booksellers since 1963.

© 1963-2022 Mayuba Inc. | Barbara's Bookstores