Advanced Search
X
Advanced Search
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
On Hand
Available to Order
search image
  • The Dangers of an Ordinary Night
  • Author: Lynne Reeves
  • ISBN: 9781643858654
  • Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
  • Pub Date: 11/2021
  • Pages:
  • Format: Hardcover
  • This book is currently unavailable. Call or email the store so that we can try to find this book for you.
Description View

Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Megan Abbott, Lynne Reeves' The Dangers of an Ordinary Night is an exploration of the explosive family secrets that are often hidden in plain sight.

On a chilly fall evening at the prestigious Performing Arts High School of Boston, best friends Tali Carrington and June Danforth go missing after auditioning for a play. They're last seen in grainy, out-of-focus surveillance footage that shows them walking away from the school. Two days later in a town south of Boston, Tali is found disoriented and traumatized by the ocean's edge, while June is pronounced dead at the scene.

Tali's mother, Nell, is so bent on protecting her daughter from further emotional harm that she ignores rumors of her husband's involvement and enlists the help of Cynthia Rawlins, a reunification therapist with personal insight into the riptide that hides below the surface of every unsuspecting family. Meanwhile, Detective Fitz Jameson uncovers a criminal undertow involving the high school's overachieving students, and finally sees an opportunity for personal redemption from a secret that's haunted him for years.

As Nell, Cynthia, and Fitz confront their own contributions to the scandals that beleaguer them, their lives turn out to be more deeply intertwined than they'd ever imagined. In the end, they must decide what lengths they're willing to go to protect the people they love while also saving themselves.

Genres & Subjects View

BURR RIDGE | The Village Center 770 Village Center Drive, Burr Ridge IL 60527 | 630.920.1500
Hours: Mon-Sat 10am-7pm Sun 11am-6pm

O’HARE INTERNATIONAL | Gates B10, C15, E5, G1, HK4 | Chicago IL 60666 | 773.686.1281

CHICAGO | Macy’s 111 N. State Street, Chicago IL 60602 | 312.781.5257
Hours: Mon-Sat 10am-8pm Sun 11am-7pm

SCHAUMBURG | 5 Woodfield Mall, Schaumburg IL 60173 | 224.520.8489
Hours: Mon-Thurs 11am-8pm Fri-Sat 10am-9pm Sun 12pm-6pm

CHICAGO | Northwestern Memorial Hospital 201 E. Huron Street, Chicago IL 60611 | 312.926.2665
Hours: Mon-Fri 7am-7pm Sat-Sun 10am-6pm

VERNON HILLS | Hawthorn Mall 102 Hawthorn Center, Vernon Hills IL 60061 | 847.549.7550
Hours: Mon-Sat 11am-8pm Sun 11am-6pm

LOMBARD | 120 Yorktown center Lombard,IL 60140
Hours: Mon-Fri 7am-7pm Sat-Sun 10am-6pm

Barbara's Bookstores have been Chicagoland's independent booksellers since 1963.

© 1963-2022 Mayuba Inc. | Barbara's Bookstores