Advanced Search
X
Advanced Search
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
Fiction
Nonfiction
All
On Hand
Available to Order
search image
  • The Hawthorne School
  • Author: Sylvie Perry
  • ISBN: 9781643857923
  • Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
  • Pub Date: 12/2021
  • Pages: 304
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Cover Price: $25.99
Description View

For fans of Riley Sager, The Hawthorne School is a twisty psychological suspense about the lengths one mother will go for her child, inspired by present-day obsession with cults and true crime.

Claudia Morgan is overwhelmed. She's a single parent trying the best that she can, but her four-year-old son, Henry, is a handful--for her and for his preschool. When Claudia hears about a school with an atypical teaching style near her Chicagoland home, she has to visit. The Hawthorne School is beautiful and has everything she dreams of for Henry: time to play outside, music, and art. The head of the school, Zelma, will even let Claudia volunteer to cover the cost of tuition.

The school is good for Henry: his behavioral problems disappear, and he comes home subdued instead of rageful. But there's something a bit off about the school, its cold halls, and its enigmatic headmistress. When Henry brings home stories of ceremonies in the woods and odd rules, Claudia's instincts tell her that something isn't quite right, and she begins to realize she's caught in a web of manipulations and power.

The author's work as a psychotherapist, with a focus on narcissistic manipulation and addictive power dynamics, guides this exploration of a young mother wanting to do the best for her child.

Genres & Subjects View
COVER PRICE
  • Hardcover $25.99

BURR RIDGE | The Village Center 770 Village Center Drive, Burr Ridge IL 60527 | 630.920.1500

CHICAGO | Northwestern Memorial Hospital 201 E. Huron Street, Chicago IL 60611 | 312.926.2665

CHICAGO | Macy’s 111 N. State Street, Chicago IL 60602 | 312.781.5257

O’HARE INTERNATIONAL | Gates B10, C15, E5, G1, HK4 | Chicago IL 60666 | 773.686.1281

SCHAUMBURG | 5 Woodfield Mall, Schaumburg IL 60173 | 224.520.8489

VERNON HILLS | Hawthorn Mall 102 Hawthorn Center, Vernon Hills IL 60061 | 847.549.7550

Barbara's Bookstores have been Chicagoland's independent booksellers since 1963.

© 1963-2021 Mayuba Inc. | Barbara's Bookstores